Save the date for the ICIS2017 : October 28 – November 2, 2017 in Kanazawa




Kanazawa, Japan


Looking beyond the horizon of integrated cytokine research


Plans are well underway for ICIS 2017 to be held in Kanazawa from 28 October 28 to 2 November. The organizing committee for the 2017 meeting includes Kouji Matsushima (University of Tokyo), Akihiko Yoshimura (Keio University), Yoichiro Iwakura (Tokyo University of Science), and Takashi Fujita (Kyoto University). Working with a scientific advisory committee composed of investigators selected from global academia and industry, an outstanding program is planned.


The opening Keynote lectures will be delivered by three eminent investigators: Dr Tadamitsu Kishimoto (Osaka University), Dr Richard Flavell (Yale University), and Dr Nancy C Reich (Stony Brook University). These three speakers will provide an excellent overview of the present status and future directions in the field of cytokine research.


Each morning the meeting will begin with an exciting Keynote Lecture, followed by a symposium on topics including innate immunity, autoimmunity, chronic inflammation, and tumor immunity. At noon, delicious lunch boxes will be served during lunch-time lectures. Workshops in the afternoon will cover a wide variety of topics from bench to bedside, such as cytokine-mediated signal transduction, the roles of cytokines in various physiological and pathological conditions, and anti-cytokine therapy. Four evening symposia will be held covering infection, eosinophil-mediated pathologies, rheumatoid arthritis, and chemokines. In addition, two special evening symposia will be held with the goal of promoting research by female investigators and by investigators in the Pacific Ocean Rim and the Middle East regions. In the evenings, free wine and cheese will be served at the poster viewing sites to promote active discussion and networking amongst all participants, from graduate students to senior faculty as well as representatives from biotech, pharma and scientific journals.


Confirmed keynote and symposium speakers include:

Tadamitsu Kishimoto                                         Richard Flavell

Nancy C. Reich                                                  Luke O’Neill

Diane Mathis                                                     Dan Littman

Marc Feldman                                                   Gordon D Brown

Glen D Brown                                                   Shizuo Akira

Takashi Fujita                                                   Sho Yamazaki

Akiko Iwasaki                                                   Chen Dong

Vijay K. Kuchroo                                               Manfred Kopf

Shimon Sakaguchi                                            Hiroshi Takayanagi

Doreen A Cantrell                                             Jason G Cyster

Jens V Stein                                                     Kenji Kabashima

David Artis                                                       Gabriel Nunez

Fiona Powrie                                                    Hiroshi Kiyono

Kenya Honda                                                   Sidonia Fagarasan             

Carl H June                                                      Mark Smyth

Florent Ginhoux                                                Xuetao Cao

Yutaka Kawakami                                             Kazuko Shibuya


There will also be multiple open speaker slots for selected abstracts in the Workshops.


The venue of ICIS2017, the Ishikawa Ongakudo and the ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel, is one minute walk from Kanazawa station, where more than 25 bullet trains from Tokyo and 25 express trains from Osaka arrive punctually every day. Both journeys take around 2.5 hours. There are various types of hotels within walking distance of the venue. Please see the conference website for reservation information.


Kanazawa is a castle town that was spared from wartime devastation and natural disasters, meaning it retains beautiful Japanese-style gardens such as Kenroku-en and historical areas consisting of old Japanese-style houses. Meeting participants will be able to visit these sites from the venue on foot. Kanazawa is also well known for its gastronomic culture with abundant and delicious seafood and fresh produce. There are many excellent sushi shops and traditional Japanese restaurants within the walking distance of the meeting venue.


ICIS is offering many prizes and travel awards for trainees and junior faculty. In addition, the organizing committee for ICIS2017 is also offering Kishimoto Travel Awards for young investigators, in commemoration of Dr Tadamitsu Kishimoto’s brilliant contribution to the field of cytokine research. There will be 20 domestic awardees in total to receive a prize of 50,000JPY as a support to participate in the congress.




Early Bird Registration has been open and can be registered at any time before 25 July through our website:


**Call for Abstracts**

Abstract submission has been also open and the deadline is 26th June, Monday. Please visit the congress website for submission:



Accommodation during the congress period can be reserved through the ICIS2017 official travel agency, JTB Global Marketing & Travel Inc., via the hotel reservation website. Please visit our website for more information:


Please be aware that the city during the congress period will be very busy and the most accommodation would be fully booked. We strongly recommend you to reserve a room at your earliest convenience.


Please contact the congress secretariat at for any enquiries.

Thank you for your cooperation and we look forward to your active participation to the ICIS2017.


President                            Kouji Matsushima (The University of Tokyo)

Honorary President             Tadamitsu Kishimoto (Osaka University)

Vice President                     Yoichiro Iwakura (Tokyo University of Science)

                                           Takashi Fujita (Kyoto University)

                                           Shuichi Kaneko (Kanazawa University)

Program Chair                     Akihiko Yoshimura (Keio University)

Secretary General                Naofumi Mukaida (Kanazawa University)